Something Good Can Work

Best read with Two Door Cinema Club’s Something Good Can Work

I love headbands. Love actually might be an understatement.

Designer headbands came to fashion a couple of years ago, much to my satisfaction. All of a sudden there was a wide variety of elaborate pieces. First came the feathers hype, and then all sorts of fabrics started popping up. Store bought were ridiculously expensive, since they were handmade and therefore synonymously design. Hence, inevitably, being a frugal student, a few of my friends started making our own. My first project was a bit complex. It took me a few hours to do the one, whilst my friends mass produced on the other side of the table. It was a gorgeous pair of dark grey feather piece decorated with emerald green plastic stones. It was perfect with my gown for Stigull’s annual ball 2008, also in emerald green. It only took a bag full of feathers, a handful of plastic stones, huge amounts of glue and a lot of patience. But with idle gossip to keep one’s mind occupied, a fun filled evening resulting with a beautiful headpiece.

Fierce feathers

Since then I have made a few of my own creations for when I got inspired. A made a small silk flower collage out of the leftover fabric from my home sown silk light jacket; where I also dressed the actual headband. It was both time consuming and boring process, and didn’t have as good a grip as simple ones bought from Tiger (or similar megastores) I soon decided that wasn’t worth it.

Browsing through Burda magazines, as one does, I came across a headband made out of a man’s necktie. I got a hand-me-down from my brother; a not so attractive brown tie. Beggars can’t be choosers. Despite the coloring, I was proud of the result. I haven’t actually worn it in public yet; it’s a difficult color and doesn’t fit with anything I already have. However, it has caused a slight misunderstanding whether I was two-timing my ex. Apparently a lot of men wear neckties with a sown in brace in a shape of one’s head. Silly boys and their vivid imagination.

I am a big fan of Thelma design headbands. Since I’m a poor student, I have never bought any of her creations, however I have used her work as inspiration for my own. Never an exact copy; I’m not that good at sewing yet. I make simpler designs. She has these crochet headbands I adore. My mother crocheted a string of fabric for me to fasten on my own headband. It was dark purple with silver threads interwoven. Beautiful.

During my Sunday lunches at my grandmothers I have expressed the wish of wanted to do more sewing, knitting and/or needlepoint. Not wanting to devout myself to a 35 x 35 cm pillow to begin with. I decided to start me off with a small floral piece of cross stitching. Just big enough to be used as a decoration on a headband. I remembered how much fun it was making something from scratch. It being completely one’s own. I couldn’t stop myself. I was so enthralled in it, I was cross-stitching in the wee small hours of the morning. I would come home from a party, which I had been quasi-sober, around 1 am, and not going to bed until approximately 6 am. I thoroughly enjoyed myself, cross-stitching and listening to remixes by The Twelves. Although I was still mastering the counting out, and correcting myself for when I made errors (there were a few, varied how drastic) it took only a couple of days to finish my creation. I’m currently sporting my new headband with much pride. The only ones who have noticed my efforts, on their own accord, were my mother, grandmother and home-maker learned friend Birna. Others hardly seem to notice. Oh well, I’m not doing this for the appraisal of others. Although I don’t complain for when I am congratulated on my good hard work. Unlike my proper PhD work, this is something people can actually see my efforts and understand.

Since I was on a roll I made another rose, in more popping colors than my first. Thinking about giving it away for Christmas or a birthday present to someone who would appreciate my hard work. Any takers?

Currently I’m working on more needlepoint. I just can’t get enough. Not stocking too much up on headbands I’m making a My little Pony needlepoint (estimate depicted below) to be framed. Proper instructions can be found here (link valid for the next 30 days) for those who are extremely interested. I want to write a caption “Make Love, Not Ponies” either in cross-stitching (if I can find proper font instructions) or pretty calligraphy on the frame’s carton. I think this pays a nice homage to my new M16 riffle and newfound passion of needlepoint.

Make Love Not Ponies

Then when I get proper in sewing I’ll make the piece de la resistance; a divine pillow of the Holy Mother and her baby boy Jesus, my homeboy.  Before I start this monumental project I need to figure out the correct value for the ‘thread count‘ option at Pic2point. That’s my only possible Achilles heel.

Holy and her Homeboy – Needlepoint Estimate

I’m thinking about adding beads for more dynamic look and feel, for where the crown jewels and studded throne.

Tags: , , ,

About tungufoss

a PhD student that sews whilst her code compiles...

2 responses to “Something Good Can Work”

  1. stylice says :

    Ég elska krosssaum… væri alveg til í að sauma aftur… og mig langar að sjá mynd af nýju spönginni :)

  2. tungufoss says :

    Skal gert kafteinn. Tek um leið mynd af myndinni af skyrtunni sem ég er að vinna í að sauma. Þarf að mastera 21 hnappagöt, plíseringar OG rykkingar. Þetta er keppnisskyrta, þótt að Burda-blaðið segir að erfiðleikastigið sé bara 2,5 (0.5 mega létt, og 4 súper-dúper erfitt).

Your two cents...

