Wir trafen uns in einem garten

For German authenticity, listen to 2Raumwohnung’s Wir trafen uns in einem Garten

I plan to summer in Berlin next year, that is to say if the DAAD institute is willing to grant me a research stipend for 3 months (hopefully). Lets hope I am one of the four lucky Icelanders the embassy will endow. I need to send my advisor a research proposal, so he can pimp me out to his German colleagues. This will make my recently-finished course on Research Proposals and Grant Applications actually worth taking, besides its easy 2 ECT.

I have two choices in Germany, namely

  1. Technische Universität Berlin, which focuses on Machine Learning and Intelligent Data Analysis
  2. Technische Universität Dortmund, which focuses Artificial Intelligence
Summering in Germany 2011

I think I will opt for Berlin, since what I can learn in Dortmund is not much more than I can learn here in Iceland from my advisor. Berlin has a more varied group of researches, besides being a more happening geographic location. I am not, repeat not, going to repeat that country living lifestyle I got accustomed in Valenciennes.

Best of both worlds would of course be visiting both universities. Especially since my advisor is thinking about applying himself for a stay month long stay in Dortmund. So I could start there, and then relocate to Berlin for the two extra months to get acquainted to its research team.

I will have to apply before October 25th, so October will be SUPER busy. I need to present my findings at the Engineering and Natural Sciences Research Symposium 2010; finish my EMO conference paper before the extended deadline passes; peer-review a paper on IEEE Transactions on Evolutionary Computation; and finish my first LION5 conference paper and hope I have time to start (and finish) a second one during its extended deadline period. Oh, and finish a proper paper for International Journal of Systems Science, Special Issue on: Computational Intelligence Optimization in the Presence of Uncertainties. The only reason why this is actually feasible is because most of my work is closely related and an extension of a previous (or simultaneous) work.

I am also going to Iceland Airwaves and learning to knit. Wish me luck! I can’t wait for my little mini-breaks to Aarhus and Seattle. God knows, I will deserve them then.

Tags: , , ,

About tungufoss

a PhD student that sews whilst her code compiles...

Your two cents...

