Spanish Armada

Today I was tidying up my crafts room, I have a FIMO rendez-vous later this week. So to excuse myself from not enjoying the glorious sun outside, is because I need to find the missing clay; in particular black. I want to some dark undertones in my homemade jewelry to be. I didn’t find them. However, I did stumble upon some tapas recipes. Tonight must be a blue moon, for I was inspired to make dinner for the family.

My brother was utterly amazed and hurried to the grocery store before I could change my mind. I didn’t back out, and to prove it I took pictures. Tonight’s menu consisted of a Spanish tortilla (a fancy word for omelet with potatoes).

Ready, let it set then FLIP!

Recipe for Asparagus Tortilla (serves 6): 

  • 750 gr potatoes (clean and sliced)
  • 100 ml olive oil
  • 500 gr asparagus (trimmed and chopped)
  • 3 shallots (finely diced)
  • 8 eggs
  • Salt and pepper

Put the oil in a frying pan. Once boiling, add the potatoes. Sauté for 10 min. Add the shallots, sauté for another 3 min. Finally add the asparagus. Season. Bring to a low heat.

Now, beat the eggs. Gently add the eggs into the potato mixture. Cook for 10 min. Take a large plate (large enough to cover the frying pan) and flip the tortilla onto the plate. Slide tortilla back into the frying pan (now it’s upside-down). Cook for 5 min.

Dinner is served!

The recipe was a bit too big for both my family size and saucepan. So I had to half everything on the go and make two batches. A blessing in disguise for I could practice my flipping. The second try came out more in one piece than the first go. Guess which one is which:

Spanish Evening at the Ivory Tower

To go along with it was Arugula salad with oranges and pomengrate seeds. Note to self, wear an apron next time (or something NOT white) when tearing away the seeds. For a novice, it’s a risky pink business.

P.S. Today during my tidying I found a very unflattering fake-fur jacket (its length didn’t even come close to the naval area!) since 7th grade that got upcycled into these cozy pillows.

Disclaimer: No animals got harmed in the making of these pillows.

Tags: , , , ,

About tungufoss

a PhD student that sews whilst her code compiles...

Your two cents...

