All at Sea

I happened to acquire two children t-shirts sized 110 (long story) but whereas I don’t have children (yet!) I had no scruples ripping the seams apart and make something more adult out of them. The result was a slightly altered version of #115 from Burda 07/2010. I added bias tape in the front to hide the fact the front piece is not cut on a fold. Then pimped it up with three sailor-esque metal accents I found rummaging through my grandmother’s button collection.

Baby Sailors?

Before...

Shop Ahoy!

... and after.

Since I had navy blue thread on my sewing machine I finally took the opportunity to take in the pair of sailor-y highwaisted shorts I got hand-me-downed from my mother, from ca late 80s. Now the trousers fit perfectly at my waist instead of hanging awkwardly around my hips. I even have a matching bolero jacket to complete the look.

Ship ahoy, and hurry for upcycling!

Tags: , ,

About tungufoss

a PhD student that sews whilst her code compiles...

Your two cents...

